The Australian Film Yearbook – 2021 Edition – eBook


The Australian Film Yearbook features the work of the flourishing Australian film industry, with over one hundred Australian feature, non-fiction, and short films released to cinemas, streaming platforms, and film festivals during 2021.

Discover a thriving and vital film industry that is positively buzzing with filmmakers eager to tell Australian stories, with over forty interviews and contributions that highlight the range of skill-sets and wealth of talent on show during 2021. Sharing their voice and perspectives on what it means to be a filmmaker are Australian creatives such as Costume Designer Erin Roche (High Ground), Director Sally Aitken (Playing with Sharks), Editor Rachel Grierson-Johns (Strong Female Lead), Director Matthew Walker (I’m Wanita), Composer Angela Little (Streamline), Writer/Director Thomas Wilson-White (The Greenhouse), Editor Nick Fenton (Nitram) and filmmakers Tina Fielding, Jacqueline Pelczar, and Cody Greenwood (Sparkles).

From independent films through to Hollywood-backed productions, you will find critical examinations of iconic and hidden Australian films, providing a historical touchstone for where Australian cinema was during the turbulent year filled with changes and challenges – 2021.



  • Stephen Maxwell Johnson – Director of High Ground
  • Erin Roche – Costume Designer for High Ground
  • Stephen Curry – Actor in June Again
  • JJ Winlove – Director of June Again and Crossing Paths
  • Ian Watson – Director of Unsound
  • Nick Fenton – Editor of Nitram
  • James Ashton – Sound Designer for Nitram and Mortal Kombat
  • Mark Leonard Winter – Actor in Disclosure and Measure for Measure
  • Angela Little – Composer for Streamline
  • Olivia Martin McGuire & Brooke Silcox – Director and Producer of Freedom Swimmer
  • Sharnya Yates – Director, Producer and Actor in Choice
  • Rachel Grierson-Johns – Editor of Strong Female Lead
  • Allan Clarke – Director of The Bowraville Murders
  • Yaara Bou Melhem – Director of Unseen Skies
  • Cathy Henkel & Sam Lara – Directors of Laura’s Choice
  • Frances Elliott & Samantha Marlowe – Directors of Girl Like You
  • Barat Ali Batoor – Director of Batoor: A Refugee Story
  • Eva Orner – Director of Burning
  • Laura Sivis, Sandrine Charruyer & Sophie Lepowic – Creative Team behind Inferno Without Borders
  • Sally Ingleton – Director of Wild Things
  • Jaimen Hudson – Subject of Jaimen Hudson: From Sky to Sea
  • Sally Aitken – Director of Playing with Sharks
  • Bruce Berseford – Director of An Improbable Collection
  • Jonathan Alley – Director of Love in Bright Landscapes
  • Matthew Walker – Director of I’m Wanita
  • Nicole Miller – Director of This is Port Adelaide
  • Christopher Nelius – Director of Girls Can’t Surf
  • Tina Fielding, Jacqueline Pelczar, and Cody Greenwood – Creative Team behind Sparkles
  • Thomas Wilson-White – Writer and Director of The Greenhouse
  • Rafe Spall – Actor in Long Story Short
  • Jon Bell – Writer and Director of The Moogai
  • Addison Heath & Jasmine Jakupi – Writer and Directors of My Cherry Pie
  • Robbie Studsor – Writer and Director of Shallow Breath
  • Kylie Bracknell (Kaarljilba Kaardn) – Filmmaker and Artist behind Fist of Fury Noongar Daa
  • Simon McQuoid – Director of Mortal Kombat


  • The Dry, High Ground, June Again, Long Story Short, Chopper, Nitram, I Met a Girl, Streamline, We’re Not Here to Fuck Spiders, Dry Winter, Friends and Strangers, Neon Across the Ocean, The Xrossing, Goody Goody Gumdrops, Shark, Strong Female Lead, The Bowraville Murders, Big Deal, Laura’s Choice, Alick and Albert, Firestarter: The Story of Bangarra, My Name is Gulpilil, Like the Wind, Palazzo Di Cozzo, I’m Wanita, My First Summer


  • Indianna Bell – Writer and Co-Director of The Recordist
  • Joshua Reed – Writer and Director of We’re Not Here to Fuck Spiders
  • Poppy van Oorde-Grainger – Director of Two Sands
  • Cody Cameron-Brown & Ziggy O’Reilly – Co-Directors of While (Alive) {}
  • Alexander Lorian – Writer and Director of Good For Nothing Blues
  • Anthony ‘Ash’ Brennan – Director of We Are Conjola
  • David O’Donnell – Director of Under My Skin
  • Chris Elena – Director of Refused Classification
  • Melanie Killingsworth & Andrew Jaksch – Creative Team behind Today
  • Levon J. Polinelli – Director of Everybody Gets Stabbed
  • Joy Hopwood – Writer and Director of Rhapsody of Love

General Fields

  • : 9780645429619
  • : The Curb
  • : The Curb
  • : July 2022
  • : August 2022

Special Fields

  • : Andrew F Peirce
  • Cover art: webuyyourkids
  • Foreword: Aaron McCann
  •   eBook
Liked it? Take a second to support The Curb on Patreon
Become a patron at Patreon!


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Australian Film Yearbook – 2021 Edition – eBook”