2023 WA Screen Culture Awards Call for Recommendations


The 2023 WA Screen Culture Awards are currently seeking recommendations for two prestigious accolades: the Outstanding Industry Contribution Award and the Independent Spirit Award. These awards recognise extraordinary and multifaceted contributions to the vibrant world of film and screen culture in Western Australia.

The Outstanding Industry Contribution Award honours individuals, organisations, or entities who’ve made a lasting impact on the local film scene. Awardees demonstrate unwavering dedication, consistently delivering excellence over time. Their influence shapes the local film industry’s growth and dynamism, often celebrating innovators who break new ground in technology, storytelling, or business models. Some recipients are also recognised for their tireless advocacy, championing diversity, inclusion, and social impact through film and screen culture.

The Independent Spirit Award celebrates fearless, innovative, and creative pioneers in Western Australia’s independent filmmaking. It spotlights those who embody independent cinema’s essence, crafting unique narratives beyond mainstream conventions. Recipients often showcase remarkable resourcefulness, creating impactful work on limited budgets. The award also honours those amplifying diverse, underrepresented stories, embracing creative risks, and addressing thought-provoking, sometimes controversial subjects.

Both award categories highlight an unwavering commitment to artistic excellence, community engagement, and the exploration of new storytelling horizons. Recipients of these awards emerge as significant and influential figures in the WA screen industry, leaving an indelible mark on the cultural landscape. Notable past recipients include Ingrid van den Berghe, Joan Peters, Perry Sandow, Johnny Ma, Clayton Jauncey, and Robert Woods.

Presented by the Revelation Perth International Film Festival, the Outstanding Industry Contribution Award and the Independent Spirit Award will be awarded during the upcoming WA Screen Culture Awards ceremony held on November 26, 2023 at Luna Cinemas Leederville.

To submit your recommendation please visit the submission link.

Embracing all screen forms from new, established and emerging screen practitioners, awards will be presented in the following categories:

Innovation Awards

  • Narrative Feature Film with budget under $1m 
  • Narrative Feature Film with budget over $1m 
  • Feature Documentary / Non Fiction
  • Short Film / Animation
  • Student Film
  • Music Video
  • Game Design
  • Commercial Content
  • Television
  • Moving Image and Installation Art
  • Virtual Reality, 360° or Augmented Reality
  • Web Series or Online Content

Outstanding Achievement Awards

  • Directing
  • Cinematography or Visualisation
  • Writing
  • Performance 
  • Performance Under 18s
  • Production Design (incl. costume, set design, hair and makeup etc)
  • Editing
  • Sound or Sound Design
  • Original Music

Special Awards

  • Contribution to the Industry
  • Independent Spirit Award

Entries to be made via Film Freeway with the Special Award submissions via website

For further information, please visit www.wascreencultureawards.com.au

Press Release

Liked it? Take a second to support The Curb on Patreon
Become a patron at Patreon!